State of Oklahoma

Federal Disaster Declaration Fact Sheet

June 8, 2019


On June 1, 2019, President Donald J. Trump granted a Major Disaster Declaration for the State of Oklahoma triggering the release of Federal funds to help people and communities recover from the Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding that began May 7, 2019, and continuing.  This disaster declaration has been amended as indicated below in bold.  Details of the disaster declaration and assistance programs are as follows:

Declaration Number: FEMA-4438-DR

Incident: Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, Tornadoes, and Flooding

Incident Period: May 7, 2019, and continuing

Federal Coordinating Officer: Gerard M. Stolar – National FCO Program

Individual Assistance (IA): (Assistance to individuals and households):

IA-Designated Counties: Canadian, Creek, Logan, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, Wagoner, and Washington Counties.

Public Assistance (PA): (Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities):

PA-Designated Counties: Muskogee, Tulsa, and Wagoner Counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

Haskell, Kay, Le Flore, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, and Sequoyah Counties for emergency protective measures (Category B), limited to direct federal assistance, under the Public Assistance program.

Hazard Mitigation (HM): (Assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards):

HM-Designated Areas: All areas in the State of Oklahoma are eligible for assistance under the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program.

OTHER: Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Please encourage your tribal members that live in the designated counties and sustained damage to register for FEMA Individual Assistance (IA) by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or go online at FEMA will also have Disaster Survivor Assistance Teams on site in the declared counties listed above to help people register for FEMA aid.